Just behind the noble buildings of via Mazzini, at the corner with via Tombesi dell’Ova/via Dente, is the tiny CHURCH OF SAN CARLINO.
The building dates back to the 11th century, but the current appearance is due to a complete renovation carried out between 1756 and 1769 by Taddeo and Giovan Battista Dal Corno.
The church of San Carlino was built by order of Tombesi dall’Ova family and was originally dedicated to the Saints Simon and Jude, Fabian and Sebastian. It was then dedicated to Saint Charles by a lay confraternity founded in 1583 under the patronage of Saint Charles Borromeo.
The paintings by Domenico Barbiani hosted inside the small dome are noteworthy. The whole structure is finely decorated with stuccoes by Giuliano Garavini and frescoes, as well as by a Greek-marble ciborium and a 15th-century tabernacle coming from the ancient Basilica Ursiana (the current Cathedral).
There is also a canvas, maybe by Giovanni Barbiani, dedicated to Saint Charles Borromeo, to the Saints Simon and Jude and the martyrs Fabian and Sebastian.
For more information about this charming Baroque church, click HERE.